Book Reviews

Unfathomable Chance by K.T. Munson

31812842

Rating:

535px-4.5_stars.svg

*Thank you to the author for providing me a copy for a non-biased review!*


Genre: Fantasy*Science Fiction

Summary: 

“When Diana woke up on her 23rd birthday she thought it was going to be a normal day. She thought of donuts, coffee, and laughter. She did not think she was going to become the center in a galactic race to win her heart. None too pleased with the prospect of alien races descending on Earth to try and woo her, Diana does the only reasonable thing she can; she runs. Now she has to try and find a way to get rid of the blasted bracelet that is the cause of all the recent craziness in her life. The problem is this isn’t an ordinary bracelet; it contains the Heart of the Cosmos. Furthermore the Cosmos chose her for a reason and it isn’t keen on letting her go until she finishes what it started over ten years ago. Something tried to destroy it and now Diana isn’t just worried about her heart, she is worried about her life.”

Review:

This book was really good. It was completely different than the usual books I tend to read but the concept sounded very interesting. I’m really glad I came across this book because I enjoyed it.

Diana is a normal girl who’s living her normal life when on her 23rd birthday, crazy aliens  swoop down to try and abduct her, claiming she’s the “Empress of the Universe.” From then on, Diana’s life isn’t the same anymore. She’s taken throughout the universe trying to discover why the mysterious bracelet wants her to fulfill its mission. Throughout her journey, Diana finds friendships, allies, and a surprising love interest in unruly aliens.

The world building was spot on. Since the storyline is set across the universe, details painting a mental picture of each planet was necessary and I think Munson definitely accomplished it. She also visually captured each character very well and they all had their own personalities. The plot moved very fast for me and that’s a good thing because Munson got to her point and developed her story.

I really liked Diana as a main character. She was spunky and did what she wanted whenever she wanted. I definitely admired her but I felt like she acted younger than her age. Diana is 23 but her responses and the situations she was put in were a bit juvenile to my liking. I adored Kal Zed though; adding a fluffy companion definitely doesn’t hurt the story.

I wish the ending had something more because my expectations for the conclusion was not met, but nevertheless, it was very cute. I would for sure recommend this book and I wish there is a squeal or series in the making.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

