Book Reviews

The Long Game (The Fixer #2) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

26073072

“The queen is the most dangerous piece on the board.”

Rating:

535px-4.5_stars.svg

Genre: YA* Mystery* Thriller* Contemporary

Summary:

“The Kendricks help make the problems of the Washington elite disappear…but some secrets won’t stay buried.

For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington, D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate’s campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

Meanwhile, Tess’s guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can—and cannot—be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she’s about to discover firsthand that power always comes with a price.”

Review:

Wow. I mean WOW. This is such a thrilling adventure with so many shockers at every turn. Scandals, check. Secrets, check. Politics, check. Corruption in politics, check. Everything you want in a book, check! I loved it!

I have to give props to Barnes. Her writing amazes me in how she pieces every moment, no matter how minor, to create the bigger picture. I literally was questioning the book how she though of that shocker like it would give me the answer. She perfectly ties the scandals in a neat and pretty bow that makes you question her thought process, in the best possible way of course. But then again, she does have advanced degrees in psychology, psychiatry, and cognitive science so I really shouldn’t be surprised in her genius writing abilities on these topics. Be warned people, she will play with your mind! I’ve also read her Natural series and that was as thrilling, if not more, as this one.

This squeal picks up right where the first left off. Tess and her friends are back at Hardwicke where dark secrets seem to resurface and new ones seem to be revealed, where the stakes are so much higher for everyone involved. Tess and Ivy, her guardian, are struggling to come together as family and allow each other into ones life. While the infamous grandfather comes into the light and makes his intentions finally known. Asher and the gang are back to help Tess solve more problems until one of their very owns’ true motives are finally revealed. And if that is not enough, there is “C-O-R-R-U-P-T-I-O-N” in Washington.

Honestly, I didn’t know where the story was going but I enjoyed every bit of it. There’s no question how amazing and thoroughly planned the plot seems. I could find no fault in it. There was so many shockers that have your mind reeling. You think you know every characters personality until they show their true selves in this book. One character in mind completely blind-sided me and ripped my heart out and crushed it into tiny pieces; never in a million years did I see that coming and neither will you. I think that is why I loved the plot; it was very unpredictable and it had that calculating atmosphere that kept me on my toes. 

The characters were enjoyable to read as always; especially Asher who just happens to be my favorite. I loved his personality in the first book and it was just as refreshing in the second, though we didn’t get to see him that often in this sequel. We got to see Emilia’s vulnerable side in this book and it made me soften up to her a bit more. Innocent little Vivvie was just a gem amidst all the scandal. And Henry was just as brooding as ever and we got to see his resolve fade away for Tess’ affections.

Tess was an interesting MC. She was very wise; some would even say wise beyond her years. And that is why I didn’t feel as connected to her as I would have liked. Her character seemed she should be way older than her 17 years of life; it wasn’t that believable. And because she was so wise, we barely got to see her vulnerable side and I wish she was more sensitive to some of the events that unfolded. I love Barnes’ novels and I think she should write a couple of adult fiction books based on her style of writing.

I thoroughly enjoyed the fast paced plot of the story so much that I didn’t want to put it down! I would recommend to lovers of adventure and thriller. There needs to be a third book because the ending left some room for growth and some answers definitely needed to be answered.

What are your thoughts on this book? Are you interested in picking this story up? If you read it, how did you feel about it?

Until next time, happy reading!

Leave a Reply

