ARC Reviews

No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista

23288804

Rating:

535px-3.5_stars.svg

*I received an ARC  from Swoon Reads through Netgalley for an honest review.*


Publication Date: April, 19th 2016

Genre: YA* Contemporary* Romance

Summary: 

“It’s all fun and parties until someone falls in love in this modern fairy tale from author Kate Evangelista.

Caleb desperately needs a fake girlfriend. Either he attends a series of parties for his father’s law firm with a pretty girl on his arm, or he gets shipped off to Yale to start a future he’s not ready for and isn’t sure he wants. And sadly, the last unattached girl in his social circle has just made the grievous mistake of falling in love with him. Fortunately, Didi, recently fired waitress and aspiring painter, is open to new experiences. As the summer ticks by in a whirl of lavish parties, there’s only one rule: They must not fall in love!”

Review:

My goodness, this was such a cute book! I couldn’t stop thinking about it long after I finished it. The first thing that attracted me was the cover. I thought it was stunning and it definitely relates to the context of the story. Yes, the description sounds a little cliched but I was still intrigued by what the story could deliver. And I can definitely say I thoroughly enjoyed it.

I loved the characters! Each one brought some spunk to the story and it wouldn’t have been remotely good were it not for the characters. Didi is the MC and I adored her. Her boldness and confidence had me smiling in my seat. It was very refreshing to read a character who was so sure of herself. I wish her spunk would rub off on me! Caleb was the leading male MC and he was swoon-worthy. Given, in the beginning I thought he was such a douche but over time we got to see his reasons for his actions and you can’t help but sympathize with him.

Then there are the Parker twins, Nathan and Natasha. I got to say that Nathan was my favorite character! He was just downright hilarious and his personality just oozed a good time. These are my favorite quotes from him:

“I’m about to become very intimate with your hair. I think that’s earned you the right to call me Nate.”

“What” Didi shot up and grabbed his arms, all humor gone. “You didn’t see a mouse in there, did you?” “Worse!” He stared into her eyes.

“Polyester.”

Natasha was such a mellow character and she was the glue that held the boys together. I wish we got to see more of her —since she came into the story about half way— and more interactions with the boys so we could see just how exactly the boys rely on her.

The storyline was cliched as I mentioned, but it was done rather well. There was some new elements mixed in including mental illness and different social class interactions. But I thought the story overall was really cute! And I loved that ending *content sigh*.

The song “Youth” by Troye Sivan perfectly describes this book. I love this song and the events Caleb and Didi went to can literally all have this soundtrack playing in the background.

But however, I did have some problems with this book. I just wanted more of everything. I wanted more background content on Caleb’s mother so we could understand him better. I wanted more talk about Didi’s mental illness. Yes, it was mentioned but the only time I remembered she was even sick was when there was talk about her medication. And I wanted Caleb and his dad to resolve their differences. It literally just left the conflict unpatched and I was like “THIS IS IT?”

Besides some flaws, I did enjoy this book. I thought it was really cute and it was a quick, fun read. I would recommend to anyone who just wants a light and entertaining book to get through the day. 🙂

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

What do you guys think? Does this book sound like something you would like? Leave your comments below.

6 thoughts on “No Love Allowed by Kate Evangelista

Leave a Reply

