Book Reviews

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.”

Rating:

4_stars.svg


Genre:

Fantasy* YA/NA* Romance* Fairies

Summary:

“When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!”

Review:

A Beauty & the Beast retelling? Uhh, yea!

This book had me engaged throughout the whole thing. I didn’t have any expectations going into this book and I feel like that’s the best way because you get surprised when it blows your mind. And this book definitely held my interest throughout. I never liked the books about the Fae World I read before, but this book sure made me reconsider my opinion about it.

This is my first Sarah J. Maas book. I haven’t read her Throne of Glass series yet, but it’s on my TBR list. Maas’ writing was phenomenal. It was intricate and beautiful and had me rereading certain sections because of how incredibly good it was. She really described the world she built so well and I could actually imagine the setting down to the smell in the air. Beautiful I tell you.

Feyre is the MC and it’s actually pronounced ‘Fay-ruh’. I was pronouncing it like Faerie until I noticed the pronunciation guide in the back lol. So Feyre was a really concrete character. She literally was the backbone of her family and she was the YOUNGEST. Can you imagine being the youngest of 3 and having to hunt in the freezing woods to find game so you and your family won’t starve? Yeah, I don’t think so. I found Feyre to be admirable because she was so strong-willed.

Then there was the Beast, aka Tamlin. He was something alright! He is a powerful High Lord of Prythian  (the land of the Fae) so he definitely oozes power just being in his presence. What I loved about him was how awkward he was to Feyre in the beginning; even the powerful aren’t immune to the symptoms of the heart. Even though I liked Tamlin, I didn’t love him. I felt like I didn’t get to see his inner thoughts or get to fully know his past. There was so much angst in him from protecting his court and we didn’t get to explore that at all! He needs a novella or his pov in the next book or SOMETHING because I want to know more about what makes him tick.

The other two main Fae are Lucien and Rhys who were amazing. They were so funny and slick but truly cared for Feyre. I was glad she had a backbone in the chaos she called her life.

The plot was truly captivating. It’s a Beauty and the Beast retelling and I didn’t fully see that until I learned about the curse. When I started this book, I didn’t know that it would do a completely 360. I promise you so much happens in this book, like I didn’t see a lot of shockers that Maas threw my way. The storyline flowed so well and it just simply worked. The romance was swoon-worthy! But I honestly don’t know where the change from “I’m wary of you Tamlin” to “I love you Tamlin” occurred. I’m smelling insta-love here. I just wish the getting-to-know-each-other phase lasted longer so it could show some resemblance to reality. Nevertheless, it was super cute.

BUUUTTT IF A FREAKING LOVE TRIANGLE HAPPENS IN THE NEXT BOOK, I WILL BE DONE WITH THIS SERIES. I sensed something with Feyre and Rhys towards the end and that is truly UNACCEPTABLE. The next book explores Feyre in Rhys’ court due to her baragin and NOWHERE IN THE BLURB DOES IT MENTION TAMLIN.

I mean, like come on! Feyre just risked her life for Tamlin, LITERALLY. So if she and Rhys actually get together, then what was the point of the first book?!

Excuse my ranting guys. I hoped I haven’t scared you from reading this book because it really was intriguing. Besides those mentioned points, I honestly enjoyed this book. I would totally recommend in good faith!

What do you guys think about this book? If you guys read it, how did you like it?

*Picture and summary from Goodreads.*

6 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I LOVE SJ MAAS! You need to read the Throne of Glass series immediately, because it is amazing, and waiting for the next book is killing me. I also loved ACOTAR for many of the same reasons, but I’m sensing the same trouble with Rhys, so it’ll be interesting to see what Ms. Maas does next!

  2. YESS!!!! Your thoughts sound exactly like mine! Twinning thoughts for the win!! If this semi-blew your mind, Throne Of Glass will swallow your soul then spit it out (in a loving way of course!). SJM’s writing is off the wall amazing.

    1. Haha, high five for twinning thoughts!!! 😁
      I actually just started Throne of Glass so I’m ready for some soul spitting LOLZ. Her writing is really amazing tbh, I can’t wait! Also I’m nervously waiting for the sequel to ACOTAR..

Leave a Reply

