Series Review

Series Review: Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

covenant-series

Overall Rating:

535px-4.5_stars.svg

Genre: YA* Paranormal* Fantasy* Greek Mythology* Romance

Holy daimon babies, this series was amazing! After falling in love with J.Lynn’s Lux series, I wanted to read more of her work so when I read the summary of this installment, I was completely intrigued. And boy, it definitively didn’t disappoint…but sadly, I haven’t seen a lot of people talk about this series and I’m really surprised. If it’s written by J.Lynn, then it has to be good, so I highly recommend it if you haven’t read this installment. 🙂

Jennifer’s writing completely blows my mind. I don’t know how she does it but she sucks the reader into her world and takes a piece of your heart after it’s all said and done. The witty banter throughout this series was EVERYTHING. In the midst of great peril, there hasn’t been one moment where one of the characters has failed to make me smile.

Characters:

Gosh, I don’t even know where to begin! I loved all these characters because they each had their own personalities; they weren’t superficial which benefited the story so much.

As the MC, Alex Andros is a kickbutt heroine! She literally had me laughing so much because she had hilarious comebacks to every situation, especially ones that she knows won’t end well for her. But more than that, she was super determined and cared for her loved ones more than herself. She made the whole story work and if it wasn’t for her, I don’t think it would have been this good.

Aiden was the leading male MC and at first, there was no depth to him, no personality and I found him very dull. Then later on, he sparked to life and became his own person and he grew on me. It was very cool to see his character development. He has some resemblance to Daemon from the Lux series, as they were both very protective of their loved ones.

Seth was the “other guy” and I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED him in the second book. We got to see another side to him, more than the hard, cold mask he usually wore. I never gave up on him, NEVER. Even when he did some messed up things, I never gave up hope so don’t you dare either! I was so mad at the ending, simply because he didn’t get his happy ending. J.Lynn needs to write him a novella or something because that’s not fair!!! I liked Seth and Alex and I totally wanted that ship to sail…but deep down I knew it wouldn’t. 😦 But I still want him to be happy and loved because that was what drove him to do the messed up things he did. If you didn’t already know, he was my favorite character.

There were other awesome characters like Lea, Luke, Olivia, Leon, and Marcus who were so great and I loved them all. Deacon is Aiden’s younger brother and he was HILARIOUS. He was snarky and witty and truly brought light and laughter to dangerous situations. Then there was Alex’s bff Caleb who I adored. He was such a great best friend guys, I need a bff like that lol.

Plot:

The storyline revolved around Greek Mythology which has always interested me. J.Lynn really made the plot work and I promise you that you will enjoy the world she has created. There was a lot of action and kickbutt scenes that will have you on the edge of your seats and a lot of angst but it all worked out in the end. 😉 There were many moments that will have you fangirling then instantly crying because that’s how deep in your feelings you will be lol. I really liked how the Olympian gods were involved. I don’t think I could say much more about what happens as to not spoil it for you but take my word for it, it was pretty cool. AND THAT ENDING WAS SO PRICELESS. ❤

Ohh, and I incredibly loved how Alex and her uncle, Marcus’ relationship developed. Keep an eye on that because there were some waterworks toward the end.

Regarding the romance, I don’t think I could say anything besides that this is J.Lynn. It was good, you best believe it! 😉

What I didn’t like:

From the middle of the third book to the middle of the fourth book, I wasn’t that engaged in what was going on. I’m guessing it was because it was boring or uninteresting. I don’t really remember what happened in that time frame to be honest. But other than that, it was AMAZE-BALLS!


Overall, I really enjoyed this series! I thought it was super unique and worthwhile. I heard that it was really similar to the Vampire Academy series but I haven’t read that so I don’t know if that’s accurate or not. Even if it’s similar, this installment needs to be read!

What are your thoughts on this series? If you read it, what did you think?

5 thoughts on “Series Review: Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. I’ve had book 1 for ages, but I didn’t know there were this many in the series! This is an awesome overall review and I’m gonna bump this book up on my tbr 🙂

Leave a Reply

