Book Reviews

The Fixer (The Fixer #1) By Jennifer Lynn Barnes

22929578

Rating:

 535px-4.5_stars.svg


Genre: YA* Mystery* Thriller* Contemporary.

Summary:

“Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.”

Review: 

yes, Yes, YES! This book was a total YES. Mystery, politics, shocking revelations, badahh MC, what more can you ask for?

This book had me on the edge of my seat throughout it all. So many shockers that literally left me speeches. Every time I made a prediction, it would turn out to be something that hadn’t even crossed my mind. I love that aspect of surprise that books can evoke. But seriously, there are like 3 major bombshells that will leave you questioning everything you were 100% sure about in this book. Then there are minor shockers about the plot and I love how JLynn drops those bombshells right before finishing a chapter, giving you time to FREAK OUT before moving on to the next chapter. Well done Barnes, well done.

The plot was so fast paced but flowed so wonderfully. Every scene tied in with the next one oh so well. And the story-line wasn’t stagnant at all, thank goodness! I really liked how JLynn weaved politics into the interpersonal relationships in this story. The politics wasn’t overpowering the rest of the book or anything which is good.

My favorite part about this book was Asher. Who is Asher, you say? Well Asher is only the most funniest and punniest and most relatable character I have ever read. He literally reminded me of me lol. His comebacks are sooooo funny and will always make you want to smile even when you don’t want to. Since I have a younger brother who is 3 years younger then me, I have gotten quite good at funny and quirky comebacks. I have to hold back my comments sometimes when I’m talking to anyone else that’s not my brother. But Asher, on the other end, has no filter whatsoever so my unsaid comebacks lived throughout him, if that makes sense lol.

“What are we doing?” Asher helped himself to a seat at my table.
“We aren’t doing anything,” I told him bluntly.
“My mistake. I thought we were brooding in Henry’s general direction. Like so.” He adopted stormy countenance, then gestured to me. “Yours is better.”
“Go away, Asher.”
“You say go away, I hear be my bosom buddy.” He gave an elaborate shrug. “Seriously, though: friendship bracelets—yea or nay?”

As a MC, Tess was a good one. She was resourceful, smart, and fearless. A very strong heroine, I say. She is the type of person who took care of others and doesn’t know how to let people in, but her self discovery throughout the book was amazing to see. The ending had me feeling all types of ways so be warned…

Before I read this book, I heard talk about a love triangle going on. Let me clear that up: THERE IS NO LOVE TRIANGLE. Actually, there was no romance in this book at all. There were moments where something could have happened between Asher (my favorite) or Henry, but sadly nothing did. So if you were looking for that in this book, you won’t get it!

I just gotta say that JLynn Barnes is one of my favorites JLynns out there, right next to Jennifer L. Armentrout that is. I love her The Natural series so be sure to check that out; I advise you don’t read it at night though. I would recommend this book to people who like thrillers and mystery. I will definitely be waiting for the squeal to come out next year! 🙂

What do you think of this book? If you read it, what are your thoughts?

“Picture and summary from GoodReads.*

Leave a Reply

