Book Reviews

These Broken Stars (Starbound #1) By Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

13138635

Rating:

535px-3.5_stars.svg 


“You don’t mention death when it’s hovering near someone you love. You don’t want to attract the reaper’s attention.”

WARNING: SOME SPOILERS INCLUDED.

Genre: YA* Science Fiction* Romance* Fantasy.

Summary: 

“Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive — alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth.”

Review:

I’M BACKK! Sorry I’ve been MIA guys but school is literally kicking my butt.. I have a psychology test this week and while I should be studying for it, I’m writing a blog review. What a life to live! 🙂

Anywho, back to the review.

The first thing that attracted me to this book was the cover; just look at it. IT’S SO FREAKING BEAUTIFUL! The cover matches the content of this book so well. And the rest of the covers in this series are SO amazing too. My favorite series cover by far.

 13138734 (1)13138736 (1)

I really did enjoy this book…to a certain extent. The characters were well developed and even though I don’t like dual POV books, this one did it pretty well. But the world building was extremely confusing. The “hyperspace jumping”, “energy rifts”, “surges of dimensional energy” were very hard to grasp and understand. When Lilac started having visions, I was confused in what was happening to her. Was she going crazy, is she having hallucinations, why isn’t Tarver experiencing them too?! I was a lost puppy looking for answers. And WHEN SHE DIED, I ALMOST THREW THE BOOK AT MY WALL.

tumblr_nvyhbn13fh1ropgaio1_500

First off, it’s a very sacred rule to not kill MCs in books but Kaufman and Spooner joined the rebel cause along with Veronica Roth. Second, the bringing Lilac back from the grave and it’s not the real her concept didn’t make sense at all. When she died, I mourned along with Tarver. Then she came back and ripped open the wounds again.

Lilac’s death explained: She died and the book became depressing :(. Just kidding she’s alive again, hooray 🙂 ! Never mind, it’s not really her, aww D: . Screw that, it really is her 😀 !

So confusing! And even after Lilac came back from the dead, I couldn’t fully acknowledge that she really is alive because I witnessed her death!

Also, the romance took a while to fully kick into gear for me. The blurb promised an unforgettable love story and didn’t deliver until 2/3 of the book was read. I felt like the romance was super rushed for my taste.

After I finished the book, I was like it was an OK book and I had plans to give this series a chance. I go on GoodReads and read the summary for the second book…. only to find out that the next two books are not about Lilac and Tarver. >.> It would be an understatement to say that I was disappointed. I was so mad that I wasted my time connecting with the MCs, only to discover that the next books in the series have completely different MCs! I was highly annoyed and had a mini rant to my brother who just looked at me like I was crazy lol.

I personally wouldn’t recommend this book to people who, like me, connect with characters only to have their hearts shattered when the next books in the series are not about said characters.

*Picture and summary from GoodReads.*

What do you think of this book? If you have read it, what are your thought? 🙂

Leave a Reply

