Discussions

Classical Books; Yay or Nay?

“The person, be it gentleman or lady, who has not pleasure in a good novel, must be intolerably stupid.”
― Jane Austen

Recently, I have been in need to read some classics. But the problem is (like any type of bibliophile), which one to read?

I am definitely Yay for Classics! I think it’s so good to be well rounded in reading. You get to engage in writing from the past and get to experience people’s thinking from before you were born. I don’t know about you, but I think that’s pretty freaking cool!

*Branching out from your comfort zone in anything will only benefit you and bring you something exciting in the long run.*

I know I have read some classics because school has forced me to. I don’t think I really engaged in those books just because it wasn’t my idea to read it in the first place. So book lovers, I encourage you to read a classic a month. Just to see if you’ll like, to see if it inspires you, to see if you could love them as much as the books of your choice, to see… I could do this all day people! 🙂 And I will do this challenge right along with you!

Prove Mark Twain wrong!

“Classic’ – a book which people praise and don’t read.”
― Mark Twain

You’ll know about these great books and will have something to talk about at awkward dinner parties lol 😀

What are some of your favorite classical books you would recommend to me? And which side are you on for classical books? Leave your comment below! 

6 thoughts on “Classical Books; Yay or Nay?

  1. I’m a ‘yay’ for classics.
    Except unfortunately I’m also proof of Twain’s opinion that “classics are books which people praise and don’t read.”
    It’s not something I’m exactly proud of, considering I pride myself on owning a number of classics; I just have yet to read them.
    My problem is that I find myself struggling to be in the right mindset to read them, because with the slight language difference from the time period they were written. The words and phrases can get all mixed up in my head.
    Do you ever find that happening to you?
    But also, what defines a classic?
    Obviously, anything written by Charles Dickens, understandably, but what about the slightly newer books that also could be considered classics.
    I’ve read (and thoroughly enjoyed) Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, which I consider a classic but I’m not entirely sure if it counts as one. This also really frustrates me, being so unsure.
    But I’m with you, I want to start delving into the classics I own, and read the books that have been around for generations and with good reason.
    Though one a month might be pushing it for me.

    1. I completely agree with you! I’m proving Twain’s opinion too but I’m trying to get put of that habit. And I do struggle with how it’s written if it was from a different time. When that happens, I tend to look up what it means or look up a summary lol >.> I don’t really know what defines a classic. Books from this generation could be considered a classic but I don’t really know what makes it so.

      1. Yeah I look it up, but there are days where I sort of just push myself to muddle my way through the dialogue and see if I can decipher the meaning myself. This doesn’t always go to plan, and then I have to fall back on looking up the real meaning. But sometimes I am pleasantly surprised by the fact that I was actually pretty close.

        Yeah it’s a strange thing to think about, one could write many posts exploring “what counts as a classic” because you’re right. There are many books that have been recently released that could already be labelled as classics, even though they have been around for less than 15 years.

  2. More often than not, I hate classics. I’ve always felt like I just don’t have the brain power to understand them, so they’re not fun for me. I just can’t decode Old English. That being said, I did sort of enjoy Hard Times. That might be the only “classic” I like.

  3. I definitely recommend Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte. One of my favourite classics despite having to read it for English lit a level. Unfortunately, I do agree with Mark Twain 😁

Leave a Reply

