Book Reviews

The Wrong Side of Right By Jenn Marie Thorne

wrong side of right

Rating:

4_stars.svg


Genre: Contemporary* Young Adult.

Summary: 

“Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?

Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.”

Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.

Review:

Well, that was surprisingly really interesting. It revolves around politics and I usually wouldn’t read a book like this but I guess there’s a first time for everything 🙂

Kate Quinn’s life has turned upside down and inside out. She comes home one day to find out that her long lost dad is the senator running for president…and he never knew that she existed…because she was a child of his long-ago affair. 😮 She then decides to join his summer campaign for president because he’s the only living parent she has left. She instantly gets swept up in the spotlight and she actually starts to enjoys it, along with her stepmother and half siblings. But she soon finds out that she doesn’t agree with one of her dad’s major policies and she’s stuck whether she should go against her beliefs or stick with her dad’s side.

This book was really relatable in so many ways, which made the book so much better in my eyes. The main character goes through loneliness, trying to gain approval, and sticking up for what she beliefs in. We all have gone through something along the lines of that so it’s so relatable. You connect with the character and you empathize with her which adds to the whole book!

The characters were illustrated so greatly that you could describe each character with a single word. You could seriously identify each character with a person in your life.

Katie was a strong character but she wanted to get approval from her dad so bad that she kinda lost who she was in my eyes. She was a follower in the beginning, which was so irritating. But thankfully, she put what she wanted in the universe and made it happen. Senator Cooper was sooo annoying. Like seriously, your little campaign is more important than your family? I wanted to got into the book and slap some sense into him, but THANKFULLY Throne did it for me lol ^.^ Elliot was a complete jerkface and got what was handed to him by Lou. Nancy needs a drink and to chill out a little lol. And Andy Lawrence, the president’s son. I definitely liked him. I loved his personality and his humor. I also love the romance between him and Kate <3. I just wish we got to see him more in the book, sigh :c

This was a very heartwarming debut by Jenn Marie Thorne. Something about this book held me captivated and I just couldn’t put it down until I finished! I would definitely recommend this book to people who want to connect with the characters and the whole story.

Would you read this book? And if you did, what are your thoughts on it? 🙂

*Picture and Summary from GoodReads.*

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “The Wrong Side of Right By Jenn Marie Thorne

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s