Book Reviews

Eleanor and Park By Rainbow Rowell

e and p

Rating:

535px-2.5_stars.svg


Genre: Romance,Ya, Contemporary, Fiction.

Summary: 

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.”

Review:

When I saw the raving reviews for this book, I told myself I had to read it! I was super excited because the description made it seem like it was the cutest and greatest thing out there. But sadly, me and this book didn’t click.. sad face.

I think it was mostly the main character that just didn’t do it for me. Eleanor seemed so emotionless and given her distressing home life, I guess I get it. But she just didn’t appeal to me at all. Like the one time that she was showing her true emotions for Park was towards the end of the book, and I though that was too late by then.

Park was a better character because I actually got to see more emotions from him. But he was still lacking something for me to be like “I totally understand where he’s coming from.”

And the romance! It was unbelievable… and not in the good sense either. I liked how it begin as a uncomfortable situation because not every relationship is sunshine and rainbows when it first starts. But they went from “okay, I guess you’re kind of cool” to “I can’t live without you” in a heartbeat. It was totally unbelievable…sigh.

There were some okay parts in the book but nothing memorable; I can barely remember the plot line of this story. The ending was my favorite part. It didn’t end on a happy note but it was relatable to readers and I appreciated that.

I don’t know why but Rainbow Rowell’s books just don’t grab my attention. Her book Fangirl was a DNF for me, sorry to say. I REALLY wanted to like it but it just didn’t happen 😦

*Picture and summary from GoodReads.*

Leave a Reply

